Buck Clayton, Harry "Sweets" Edison, Al Killian, Ed Lewis (tp), Robert Scott, Eli Robinson, Dicky Wells (tb), Earl Warren (as, voc), Tab Smith (ss,as), Buddy Tate, Don Byas (ts), Jack Washington (bari), Count Basie (p), Freddie Green (g), Walter Page (b), Jo Jones (d), Jimmy Rushing (voc)

Cafe Society Uptown, New York (Radio Broadcast)

1. Out the Window (Eddie Durham)
(Opening clipped) arr: Eddie Durham
2. I Want a Little Girl (Moll-Mencher) (Rushing-voc)
arr: Jimmy Mundy
3. Rocking the Blues (Earl Warren)
arr: Buster Harding
4. What Word is Sweeter Than Sweetheart (Warren-voc)
5. Something New (Gamse-Menandez)
arr: Jimmy Mundy
6. Topsy (Eddie Durham-Edgar Battle)
arr: Eddie Durham
7. Air Mail Special (Charlie Christian-Benny Goodman)

Cafe Society Uptown, New York (Radio Broadcast)

1. Board Meeting
(untitled original in Sheridan)
2. Down, Down, Down (Don Redman)
arr: Don Redman
3. Take Me Back Baby (Tab Smith-Jimmy Rushing-Count Basie) (Rushing-voc)
Master arr: Andy Gibson
[4. Blue Lou (Edgar Sampson-Irving Mills)
arr: Don Redman]
[5. I Found a New Baby (Warren-voc)]
6. Broadway (Henri Woode)
arr: Henri Woode
[7. Sweet Georgia Brown (Ben Bernie-Maceo Pinkard-Kenneth Casey)
arr: head arrangement]

1941-10-10 (#3 alternate source)
Cafe Society Uptown, New York (Radio Broadcast)

1. Down for Double (Freddie Green)
arr: Buck Clayton
2. This Time the Dream's on Me (Harold Arlen-Johnny Mercer) (Warren-voc)
3. Elmer's Tune (Elmer Albrecht-Sammy Gallop-Dick Jurgene)
[4. Yes Indeed (Sy Oliver) (Rushing-voc)]
[5. Moon Nocturne (Earle Warren) (Warren-voc)
arr: Earle Warren ?]

Cafe Society Uptown, New York (Radio Broadcast)

1. H and J (Harry Sweets Edison)
arr: Buck Clayton
2. Diggin' for Dex (Eddie Durham)
arr: Eddie Durham
3. Goin' to Chicago (Count Basie-Jimmy Rushing) (Rushing-voc)
arr: Buck Clayton

Café Society Uptown, New York City (Radio Broadcast)

1. Baby Don't Tell on Me (Lester Young-Jimmy Rushing) (Rushing-voc)
arr: Eddie Durham
2. Swinging the Blues (Eddie Durham-Count Basie)
arr: Eddie Durham
3. One O'Clock Jump (Eddie Durham-Hot Lips Page-Buster Smith) (theme)


GIPEHEL said...

wonderful orchestra !
This faces of 1941 are very exciting

Matt said...


Dudearonymous said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
almason said...

this is from the timeless world of true jazz...thanks!

Nigel said...

Thank you so much for this material. The Internet boggles my mind somethimes. See you on CIA.